Dongbei dialect

To me, the local dialect sounds like people are talking with rocks in their mouths.  I know, I should be able to use my phonetics training and come up with a better description than that.  Check back in a few months … or maybe years.  For now, I’m just glad that no one is forcing me to transcribe it.

1 Response to “Dongbei dialect”


  1. 1 Ladye July 8, 2010 at 12:37 pm

    I’m no trained linguist, but rocks in the mouth seems spot on to me. There’s a famous comedian named 赵本山 (Zhao Benshan) from Liaoning Province. He’s legendary for appearing on the CCTV New Year’s Gala (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Zhao_Benshan). I think half his act must just be his funny accent. He sounds exactly like he has a mouth full of rocks and he speaks in rapid bursts. Here’s a clip on YouTube:

    Lot’s of 儿’s in there, too.


Leave a Reply

Author

Archive

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers


